for his contributions to nanowire photonics including the creation of the first nanowire laser



Peidong Yang

S.K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Chair in Energy, Department of Chemistry, Materials Science and Engineering, University of California Berkeley, Kavli Energy Nanoscience Institute, and Materials Science Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA USA



for their pioneering research on ferroelectric memory devices (Scott) and new multiferroic materials (Ramesh and Tokura)



Yoshinori Tokura

Director, RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science, Saitama, JAPAN, and Professor, Department of Applied Physics, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, JAPAN

(Previously selected as a Citation Laureate in 2002 for work in a different area, high-temperature superconductivity.)



Ramamoorthy Ramesh

Professor, Physics and MSE, and Associate Lab Director for Energy Technologies, University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, CA USA



James F. Scott

Director of Research, Cavendish Laboratory, Department of Physics, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK



for theoretical and experimental research on the quantum Hall effect and topological insulators



Charles L. Kane

Class of 1965 Endowed Term Chair Professor of Physics, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA USA



Laurens W. Molenkamp

Professor of Physics and Chair of Experimental Physics, University of Wurzburg, Wurzburg, GERMANY



Shoucheng Zhang

J.G. Jackson and C.J. Wood Professor of Physics, Stanford University, Stanford CA USA